Liblime Acquires Katipo’s Koha Division

I first saw this while browsing oss4lib

Press release here: http://liblime.com/news-items/press-releases/liblime-to-acquire-katipo

Wow. Congrats to Katipo.

I’m super keen to get my hands on a working copy of Koha, because I’d love to have a look at it – unfortunately, I have had some problems installing a test version on my home server.

I’m convinced there’s room for Koha to be more widely used in (atleast) the special library market in New Zealand (home of myself, and Koha). Well, I’m convinced there’s room for another small library system in this market anyway, and with Government starting to make more serious noises about open source software, what better than Koha?

As far as I can tell, the NZ special library library system market currently consists of two products: DB Textworks/CS and… Liberty. (er, another software that was homebrewed until it got sold to an Australian company; the name of which I’ve temporarily forgotten). The latter has suffered I believe since it was sold to Australia (both in quality and support) and while I believe DB Textworks is a decent product, I still believe special libraries out there could do better!

I’d love to get a job like working at Liblime as a NZ representative… I was going to approach Katipo upon my return to NZ. So perhaps I’ll drop Liblime an email instead!

2 Responses to Liblime Acquires Katipo’s Koha Division

  1. Chris says:

    Hiya

    Give me a yell next time you are gonna take a crack at getting Koha running, and I can give you a hand with anything you get stuck with.

  2. savage hardy says:

    The problem with DB/Textworks is that the resulting product are deep web – e.g. Google (etc…) cant crawl them – so all the effort that say Auckland City Libraries put into their myriad of DB/Textworks is lost http://www.aucklandcitylibraries.com/findyoursubject/digitallibrary/aucklanderesourcesdigitallibrary.htm

Leave a Reply

